TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oh you Tpi'ers be Nice. New To FI

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2001, 10:43 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oh you Tpi'ers be Nice. New To FI

k, well.
i have a 91 pont firebird 305 V-8 with TBI
and everyone speaks highly of TPI. i would like to changeover. but im new to fuel injection. so any info you guys can give. is highly appreciated. like whats needed. how hard, long, difficult, complicatsions. whats already there. thanx guys.

------------------
91 FireBird 305 V-8
no true mods,
ghetto rigged cold air intake,
People dont have a soul, its just something parents made up to frighten little children, like the boogie man, or micheal jackson..."

GheTTo Riggers INC.
We Make Mcgyver look Like Crap
Old 04-16-2001, 12:26 AM

Received 219 Likes on 179 Posts
Fire,

Before you dive in head over heels into the TPI world, do a little research on the shortcomings of the system. TPI engines make great torque at low RPMs. The GM Powertrain guys wanted a torque engine for the heavy cars, and that's exactly what they succeeded in making. You can't dispute the low RPM torque advantages of the TPI over the other stock systems.

However, many TPI drivers would like to be able to exceed 4,500 RPM while still making the torque they get at 3,200 RPM. This is a pretty tough chore for the long-legged TPI. If you want a car that smokes the tires with a 2.73 rear gear ratio, TPI will fill the bill. If you want a screamer for 1,320-foot runs, you might want to find a different method.