TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

So I need new injectors for my L98. Have some ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2010, 12:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 87 Yellow Iroc-Z
Engine: 5.7 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: BW 9 bolt
So I need new injectors for my L98. Have some ?'s

So 4 of my injectors decided to crap out . I am new to this whole TPI thing being used to carbs so bare with me here. Let me start by giving you the story of what happened with the car .

Couple days ago I put headers on the car . It ran flawlessly before hand but now barley starts . I managed to get the car to stay running where I then gave it the only injector test I could think of . I walked around the motor unplugging one injector at a time . If I unplugged a "good" injector , the motor would fall on its face . If I unplugged a "bad" one , then the way it ran did not change . There for making me come to the conclusion that 4 of my injectors are done . Not sure if this is a legit way I could test it but its all I could think of at the time .

So now that my injectors are bad , which ones should I get ? I want the bosch 3's but I was leaning toward 24lb-ers . Because in the very near future this car will be getting alot of bolt ons. Not boosting, just porting to the intake system , cam , heads , and so on . Should I go with the 24's?

One more thing . When I put the headers on , I completely forgot about disconnecting the battery . The engine hoist chain touched the positive terminal on the alternator and grounded the car out . The ignition was off and it only made contact for a few seconds , but could this effect anything ?

Ant help would be great . I want to contact southbay to pick up a set of injectors asap but wanted to run all this past you guys first . Thanks in advance
Old 09-11-2010, 09:02 AM

Car: 89 iroc
Engine: l98
Transmission: tremec