TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Loss of power in 1990 Camaro RS

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2018, 12:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1990 Camaro RS
Engine: 5.7L V8
Transmission: Automatic
Loss of power in 1990 Camaro RS

My Camaro has a really bad loss of power, and the car shakes really bad. I have had this problem twice. The first time, after 5 days, I turned on the car, the car then revved itself, and all my power was back. A month later and the loss of power is back. I step on the gas pedal, and the RPM's go so high before the car shifts into 2nd gear. After shifting into 2nd gear, the car stops shaking. But the loss of power is still there. HELP!!

I'm 18 and recently bought a beautiful 1990 Camaro and I'm new to this stuff.
Old 09-12-2018, 07:44 AM

Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts
Car: 1988 IROC-Z
Engine: 5.7 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.45
Re: Loss of power in 1990 Camaro RS

That seems to be limited on the information. By RPMs going high, do you mean the car is hanging in gear and then finally shifts? It sounds to me like you are having transmission problems. These cars do no have electronically controlled transmissions so it is likely an internal issue. I would get it to a trusted transmission shop soon and get it checked out. A lot of problems are cheaper to get fixed before something goes boom and completely fails.

It could be something as simple as dirty fluid clogging up passages.

More information on the symptoms would help the guys here point you int he right direction.
Miles, any CELs, have you checked fluid level, what does the fluid look like, how does to go through all 4 gears when you are having the problem, same thing when it seems you are not, where does it seem like the vibration is comign from, etc.
Old 09-12-2018, 06:41 PM

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Car: 92 RS / 90 IROC-Z
Engine: 305 / 350