Car Audio Car audio related questions and helpful hints for building the best sound system for your car or getting the most out of what you have.

factory cassette radio to aftermarket CD what's involved?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2016, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS
Engine: 305 TBI
Transmission: 4 Speed Automatic
factory cassette radio to aftermarket CD what's involved?

I have a 1991 Camaro RS. It has the factory radio in it and it only has cassette capabilities aside from AM/FM. I want to swap to something new with a USB input or CD at least. I'm a total newbie with electrical so bare with me.

Is the radio hooked up to a computer in the car? Is the computer going to be able to handle the new radio? With the new radio having a CD player or USB will the computer know how to handle the commands such as starting a CD? Again,I don't even consider myself a beginner in electrical,so sorry for the really stupid question.

Last edited by '91CamaroRS; 03-19-2016 at 10:01 PM.
Old 03-19-2016, 10:56 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 1991 GTA
Engine: LB9
Transmission: T5
Re: factory cassette radio to aftermarket CD what's involved?

Let me see if I can help you with some basics, and others will chime in if I leave anything out.
Swapping out the radio is actually a pretty straightforward operation, especially if you get an adapter harness so you don't have to figure out what wires in the factory set up do what function.
The radio is in no way connected with the computer in the car.
Here is a basic rundown of what you will need to do this swap:
The stock radio is a size referred to as 1.5 Din or "Din and a half".