DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Engine Dies on Clutch Depress

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2015, 08:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Dies on Clutch Depress

I have an odd ball setup... Pontiac 4 cylinder, with big duration aftermarket cam,and Dual TBI from a 4.3 V6 I am using EBL Flash (which is awesome) but I'm a newb with a lot to learn.

Currently engine is running rich, and I am doing VE Learns to correct this and very slowly its getting better.

Car idles fine when it is first started up. (Cold or Warm start, is OK either way)

Problem is that when I drive the car, and roll up to a stop, clutch depressed, the RPMS will drop very low and it will frequently die, if I don't give it some throttle.

I have raised up the Stall Saver setting, but that has not improved the problem. In the data log, I can see the IAC opening more when the RPMs drop, as I would expect.

Any suggestions on how to deal with this sort of problem?

FWIW, my IAC count at idle is around 70. I have seen some posts indicating this is OK with a big cam, while others seem to say I should turn the throttle adjustment screw and reset the IAC so that counts are much much lower. Not sure if this would have any bearing on my problem or not, since it idles fine at start up.
Old 07-27-2015, 08:48 AM

Received 215 Likes on 201 Posts
Car: check
Engine: check
Transmission: check
Re: Engine Dies on Clutch Depress

At idle on a warm engine the IAC counts need to be in the 5 - 10 step range. This is with no other loads on the engine.

RBob.
Old 07-27-2015, 05:39 PM

Originally Posted by RBob
At idle on a warm engine the IAC counts need to be in the 5 - 10 step range. This is with no other loads on the engine.

RBob.