LTX and LSX Putting LT1s, LS1s, and their variants into Third Gens is becoming more popular. This board is for those who are doing and have done the swaps so they can discuss all of their technical aspects including repairs, swap info, and performance upgrades.

Another ls2, t56 swap

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2015, 06:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another ls2, t56 swap

Ok so first off I like simplesity, I am new to motor swaps for a vehicle. I'm pretty mechanically inclined but haven't done much deep in-depth stuff besides rebuilding of a jetski motor in the living room. The simple rebuilding of carbs and replacing of transfer cases. I want to go from a 2.8 with a t5 to the ls2 and t56 for my 86 rs. I've done some research alto I suck at it. I plan on getting the motor &trans with everything out of an 04 to 06 gto from wait for it, eBay. I know I know. Plan on getting kits for oilpan, 1⅞ longtube headers, motor mounts& trans mount from brp. I know I need to upgrade the fuel system and a v8 radiator. New rear. Not sure about drive shaft tho. Kit says the stock won't work. Currently on deployment starting this when I get home in Nov-Dec. But want to get as much helpful info as I can before I just start buying things. I did find a bracket for the dbw pedal. Can I use the t5 clutch system or with slight mods. I know my guages won't work properly hopefully I might be able to graft some gto guages into it. Not worried about emissions. But what to do with the o2 sensors. Also throwing in a nice choppy cam.
Old 07-27-2015, 08:19 PM

Re: Another ls2, t56 swap

Also I've been reading about this thing called vats, and that I may have issues with it
Old 08-02-2015, 09:44 PM

Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts
Car: 82 Berlinetta/57 Bel Air
Engine: LS1/LQ4
Transmission: 4L60E/4L80E
Axle/Gears: 12B-3.73/9"-3.89
I've gotten 3 LS/trans drop-outs from eBay.

The GTO package requires some changes to the oil pan and shifter. (And '04 is LS1, not LS2.)

What rear?