Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Where should I start?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2016, 07:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Firebird
Engine: V6
Where should I start?

I'm new to cars, I don't know much about them. But I am decent with a wrench and like to figure out how things work, so I want to start learning.

My car is an 89 Firebird. It belonged to my grandfather, and then when he passed, my Mom. It pretty much just been sitting in the driveway for about 6 years. Almost a year ago it was reported to code enforcement for non-registered/non-op, so we had to move it to a family's fenced yard. My parents wanted to sell it, but never did, and then a tree branch fell and broke the rear hatch. Then they wanted to just sell it for a stupid low price, so I said I would buy it. So now it's my first car.

I'm not trying to restore or mod it a lot (yet). I just want to get it running decent, and keep it maintained.
So all I've done so far is replace the hatch, and charge the battery.
I probably need to change the oil?

What other basic maintenance can I do?
Old 05-08-2016, 08:02 PM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 1994 Z28
Engine: 355 LT1
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 3.42
Re: Where should I start?

A car that hasn't ran in 6 years?
If it hasn't been started yet, I'd pull the spark plugs and spray a generous amount of wd40 into the plug holes in the heads. Leave the spark plugs out and crank the motor over. If it doesn't turn over, you might have to do it with a wrench on the crank bolt. Once broken loose, crank it from the starter for a few seconds to push the wd40 out.

Now is the time to change the plugs, wires, drain the fuel and add fresh fuel, oil & filter. Check the air filter too and fire it up.