Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Initial Startup of First Engine Rebuild

Old 05-19-2009, 03:38 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 1992 Camaro RS
Engine: Rebuilt 350 going in after paint
Transmission: WCT5, 7k & counting behind the 350
Axle/Gears: 4thgen disc rear w/ 3.73 Posi
Initial Startup of First Engine Rebuild

Ok, so this is my first time rebuilding a SBC 350 and I'm almost to the point where I am ready to start it up and break it in. I've been reading and searching and searching and reading on here and Google since I started rebuilding the engine and I'm still not 100% on some things.

1 - For the initial break-in, I was planning on using regular 10w30 oil with the STP additive. Is this ok, or should I hunt down the GM EOS? From what I've read, the STP and the EOS are basically the same thing.

2 - Should I set the timing during the 20-30 minute break-in period, or should I get it close, run it, and then set the timing after that period?

3 - Same question for the carb(Holley 600CFM, vac secondaries)? Set it up during the initial run, or get it close and then set it up afterwards?

4 - After the 20-30 minute break-in run, it will be around 2-3 weeks till I will have the rest of the car together enough to be able to actually drive it to seat the rings. Is this going to be a problem, or will it be ok? I don't want to put the car completely back together just to have to take it all apart to remove the engine because something goes wrong during break-in.

5 - Not engine related, but part of the build. I just rebuilt my T5 as well. Is there any break-in procedure for this, or is it just a rebuild-and-drive-it kind of thing?

The engine: