Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Why can't you blend clear? (and other paint questions)

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2006, 09:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 92 Z28 heritage
Engine: 5.0 TPI
Transmission: T-5
Why can't you blend clear? (and other paint questions)

Here's my situation. Quarter panels have some surface rust, so I want to sand it down, fill it, and spray some new paint on it. I'm a mechanic, and I have a little expierence spraying paint, so I'm not affraid of operation a paint gun. But I'm no body guy, and I don't know the ins and outs of body work.

I've heard you can't blend clearcoat and have to reshoot the whole panel. Why? What happens if you try to blend clear? Will it really stand out, or what? I don't feel like resparying both quarter panels and roof section because I'm blending a little color around the wheelwells, that seems excessive, not to mention expensive.

Also, I've seen Duplicolor sells whats called "automotive primer" in a spray can. Can I use that, then spray a dual stage over it, or will the rattle can primer not work with the professional paint.

Please help me out, I fear that my rust might turn to rot holes if I don't do something soon. Thanks in advance.
Old 09-06-2006, 10:03 PM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Car: 1984 TRANS AM AERO (PAINT SO DEEP
Engine: 305 CARBED
Transmission: 700 R-4/Vette Servo mod
You "CAN" blend clear...Would I recommend it? NO especially on my own vehicle.
What we do in the business is go to the smallest area of the panel. Which, here, would be the sail panel. BUT, we have all seen the thirdgens with the chalked out area in the sail panel. This is a paint failure. Usually where someone attempted a blend. Things you need to consider are, colormatch, continuity of the panel, and longevity.