Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

started body work / paint on my 91 formula and need advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2011, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: currently a 91 G92.
Engine: 305TPI
Transmission: Borg Warner WC 5 speed
Axle/Gears: 3.42
started body work / paint on my 91 formula and need advice

The time has come for me to address the peeling paint and small dings and dents as well as a few spots of surface rust here and there on my 91 formula.

I want to do this right, so any sound advice as to what I should and shouldn't be doing is welcomed and would be very appreciated. This is the first time I am doing body work and paint, so I am a big time newbie.

I have been doing a bit of reading and a bit of work and want to share what I plan to do, what I have done so far, and what I need to do but need advice on. So please bear with me as this is going to be a fairly long thread.

My 91 formula is for the most part a straight body car except for a small dent, about a couple inches, at the front top corner of the passenger fender, a bent rocker panel at the bottom due to improper jacking by the previous owner, and a small door ding here and there from people's doors in parking lots. It also has a little bit of surface rust along the pinch welds of the rocker panels. The white paint is pealing badly, looks like a cheap Maaco job with a lot of over spray.

My goal is to take as much of the body a part as possible, (hood, fenders, bumpers, doors, hatch, etc.), fix the body so that it is dent free and everything lines up correctly, sand everything to bare metal, and primer and paint.

So far I have done a good bit of the taking things apart. This started when I took the weather stripping off so that I could weld the corners where the roof meats the C pillar due to cracks (I am also a novice with a MIG welder).