Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

'87 Firebird - Repaint or Restore?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2016, 02:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1987 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GTA
Engine: L98 350 TPI
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: 3.27
'87 Firebird - Repaint or Restore?

I recently purchased a 1987 GTA and it needs some body work. This is my first classic car and the first car I really care to put any work into. I have previous experience painting using spray application methods thanks to the military, so that's not the issue. The problem is I'm used to painting planes and not cars. I'm not sure whether or not I should strip off the old paint and redo the whole thing or try and fix the issues with the current paint. From what I've seen on this forum and others it's usually up to the owner, but since I'm new to this whole thing I figured I'd get a few opinions first. I'll attach a few pictures below as well.

The previous owner peeled off a decal on the hood and took most of the clear coat with it. His fix was two coats of plastidip, which looks kinda rough in good light.

Driver's side clear coat is peeling off.

Passenger's side clear coat is also peeling, but not as bad.

The worst visible rust spot on the car, above the driver's side rear wheel.

The roof is pretty faded and tiny spots of rust are appearing around the windows

The stock rubber aero-wing, I plan to replace the old rubber one with a fiberglass one soon.