Electronics Need help wiring something up? Thinking of adding an electrical component to your car? Need help troubleshooting that wiring glitch?

How to replace fusible link on alt./batt. cable?

Old 04-18-2007, 07:47 PM

Received 348 Likes on 275 Posts
Car: 1988 Iroc
Engine: L98 350
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: Hawks 8.8 - 3.73
How to replace fusible link on alt./batt. cable?

OK, I started a recent thread regarding that "THING" on the battery cable. Turns out it's a fusible link. Guess my question shoulda been how to replace it while upgrading my wiring.

Here's what I wanna do. I'm gonna use a fancy car audio battery terminal and run nice new, heavier gauge wire where appropriate as part of my "BIG 3" upgrade. However, running a new wire to the alternator won't include that fusible link.

...because I'm a graphic artist, not an electrician, I made YOU a diagram, so hopefully you can tell ME what to do.

Deal?

So whaddoo I do???
Attached Thumbnails How to replace fusible link on alt./batt. cable?-wiringpic.jpg  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:36 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1989 GTA
Engine: 5.7 TPI
Transmission: A4
Axle/Gears: 3.23
Re: How to replace fusible link on alt./batt. cable?

This is prolly ignorant but I have a 0 gage cable to my 140A alternator without a fusible link. I'm taking a risk that my alterator or cable won't short to ground- very unlikely IMHO but yeah it'd start a pretty nice fire. IF you can find a serviceable fusible link to use I would recommend using it. Don't quote me on this but I believe most common vehicles do not have this fusible link. For what it's worth, our starter cable doesn't have a fusible link either.

Last edited by pmpn; 04-18-2007 at 10:53 PM.
Old 04-18-2007, 11:06 PM