Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

86 Berlinetta, 350 swap, have questions!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2009, 11:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 94 Mazda MX-6 LSZE
Engine: 2.5L JDM KLZE
Transmission: 5 spd.
Axle/Gears: Stock
86 Berlinetta, 350 swap, have questions!!!

Hey everybody I'm a definite noob here, so be nice, ok? I'm coming here for some help and I figured this would be the source of knowledge.
My name is Dan and I am not new to cars or performance, just domestics and more importantly carbs. I have been through tech school and that is definitely not something they teach there.

Ok first off let me say this is NOT my car I am trying to help out a friend. He decided to trade off a perfectly good '80s Toyota 4runner for a 1986 Camaro Berlinetta. He tells me it's got a digital dash, but all the warning lights are on and none of the gauges work. These are not the only problems with this thing, but let's get the thing safely running first. I then find out that some genius, decided to swap in a 350 small block with a carb. It's got an Edelbrock 600 or 5 something on it and a 700R4 transmission.
So now we have gone backwards a generation in technology and are stuck with a car that runs, but is a pure bastard mutt. I assume that since it was originally a TBI car it had all that [shizzle] running through the ECU and now since the ECU is either completely blind or gone for good, it has no brain for this thing. I know this isn't a lot of in depth information, but that is as much as I know. No kind of previoius history, no what, why, or how this swap was done.