Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2009, 01:32 PM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 85 SC, 86 Berlinetta
Engine: V6, V8
Transmission: 700r4, 700r4
Auto Dimming Mirrors for Thirdgens

I have a couple of dimming mirrors that I could get rid of if anyone is interested. I have the first three versions of the Gentex series. I bought my first one here on TGO for $35 a while back and it didn’t work. As a tech I found the Gen I to be kind of fun to play around with and fixed it. I noticed a few people are looking for them so I thought I might get rid of some and help people out in the process.

Gen I – (electromechanical) - This style is the most interesting but its weakness is a small belt that wears with age. I won’t guarantee anything with these as their reliability isn’t that great. (I don't have any of these left that are dependable enough to sell to anyone. I had two but used both up to make one good one. )

Gen II – This version has no moving parts inside. It uses a film in-between two glass plates to darken the mirror. These have a switch on the bottom for low, hi, and off. $30

Gen III – This version operates just like the Gen II but is more sleek with a single button to turn it on and off. $40

Because I’ve noticed people getting non-working units, I will test to verify that they work and can try to help with the wiring if you have a different connector or are doing a new install. They have three wires, positive, negative, and a wire to shut the unit off when the car is put in reverse. Please Post up or send me an image of the connector you have, or let me know if you will need any wiring. The wiring is ultimately your responsibility, but isn’t difficult to verify if you have a meter to check it before installation. Replacements shouldn’t need any wiring at all.

Below is the Gen III (Gentex - 126 in pic)

Name:  GenIIIDimmingMirrorRear.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  152.1 KB
Name:  07-21-08Dimmingmirror005.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  49.6 KB

Connectors for reference: