Members Firebirds Post pictures and information about your Third Gen Base, SE, Formula, Trans Am, and GTA Firebirds!

The "New" '88 Notchback - Step By Step

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2009, 09:47 PM
Supreme Member

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: '92 T/A WS6 Vert/1956 Chevy Nomad
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: 700r4 w/ Transgo Kit
Axle/Gears: 3.42 LSD
The "New" '88 Notchback - Step By Step

After trying to buy this car last year and not having the cash, it came up for sale again this year and the timing couldn't have been better for me! I'm also posting this progress thread on another site. Mods, if it is in the wrong place, please let me know and I will move it ... of feel free to move it yourself.

**Disclaimer** - I apologize in advance for the crappy cell phone photos that will be used in the majority of this thread. I will be honest ... it is just easier to pull my phone out of my pocket than keep up with a camera. Also, I am a professional photographer by trade, and I really don't like to deal with that when I'm off work lol.

I'm starting this thread to show the progress on a car a lot of you know well. This is the '88 GTA Notchback that I bought from OneManArmy. A lot has already happened ... and there's a lot more in store. And so it begins ...

Day One

My Dad checking out the car just after we got to Greensboro

Josh signing the paperwork

Heading home down I-40 West

Day Two

After an oil change and rear diff oil flush and fill, I took the car to my local muffler shop to track down an exhaust leak. Get it up on the lift and notice that it doesn't have a converter So, I do the right (green) thing and have one put on. I don't think there's enough power gain in bypassing a catalytic converter to justify all the crap that's put into the air. Just for the record, I'm not a hippy ... I vote Republican haha. Here's the new converter going on:

Last edited by gcgarner; 05-10-2009 at 07:05 AM.
Old 04-27-2009, 09:49 PM
Supreme Member