South East Region Regional Board for South East Members.

Tampa, FL area help

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2015, 09:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tampa, FL area help

Hey guys, I'm new to the thridgen family. I'm currently on the hunt for my first 3rd gen. I know from previous experience to start on the forums for information about cars! I've always wanted one and I'm now in a financial position I can pick one up and start tinkering. I've come across quiet a few for sale in good shape. I'm hoping there is someone in the Tampa area that has seen one I have my eye on.

https://tampa.craigslist.org/pnl/cto/5335647355.html

My question is, does this seem like its too good of a deal? I'm going to assume the T-tops leak since nothing is mentioned about them. Also, what other things should I look out for when inspecting and driving one before purchase. I should be able to determine engine and transmission condition from driving it, but what are common things that I should watch out for?

Keep in mind I'm looking to slowly build a street/strip car, so I'm just looking for a good base to start from.

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-14-2015, 09:50 AM
Supreme Member

Received 70 Likes on 46 Posts
Car: 1991 Firebird
Engine: 3.1L V6
Re: Tampa, FL area help

Welcome, Kilmer! You are right about the forums! Lets start with some questions.

-Are you set on a Camaro or are you looking at Firebirds as well?

-What options are you looking for specifically (ex. T-tops or hardtop, manual or auto)?

-What is your price limit?

-How far are you willing to travel to pick it up?

I know someone who buys 3rd gens and either resells them or parts them out. Either way, he usually has good deals. He is especially fair with his parts prices.