Suspension and Chassis Questions about your suspension? Need chassis advice?

Lowering Roll centers

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2017, 05:33 PM

Received 101 Likes on 72 Posts
Lowering Roll centers

Hi guys,
I took my 92 RS with a freshly rebuilt suspension to local the autocross and I spun out twice.

Anyways, I was told to lower my rear roll center (via the Panhard bar) to help reduce this snap oversteer.
​​​​​​
​​​​​​But I'm a little confused on what to do.
do I lower BOTH ends of the panhardbar?
Or just 1 side?

(My brother is a lazer operator and I'm a welder, so I can simply make my own parts from Titanium or Inconol)
Old 08-15-2017, 08:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 88 GTA
Engine: 2001 ls1
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: TNT 8.8
Re: Lowering Roll centers

Should just need the rear end side if you're already lowered.
Old 08-15-2017, 09:05 PM

Originally Posted by tubesncubes
Should just need the rear end side if you're already lowered.
My car is currently at the stock ride height
Does the same apply?
Old 08-15-2017, 11:34 PM
Supreme Member

Received 42 Likes on 31 Posts
Car: '89 Formula
Engine: LS2
Transmission: 4L65E
Axle/Gears: MW 3.42 12 Bolt

Originally Posted by McLovin1181
Hi guys,
I took my 92 RS with a freshly rebuilt suspension to local the autocross and I spun out twice.

I was told to lower my rear roll center
​​​​​​
​​​​​​But I'm a little confused on what to do.
Whole lot more going on than just lowering your rear 'cause someone said so.
Some upstream issues need to be addressed first. Probably good advice - a half answer, though.

Know your alignment specs?

Need more details: tires, shocks, stock springs, LCARB's, strut mounts, SFC's, bushings, stock TA, worn diff, gear ratio, etc? Spin out always on RH/LH? Do you have warning that's it's breaking loose, or does it surprise you? Any break hop into corner?
Old 08-16-2017, 02:09 AM

Originally Posted by TEDSgrad
Whole lot more going on than just lowering your rear 'cause someone said so.