Ebay engines?
Ebay engines?
Someone posted up a link on Coloradok5 (a chevy blazer site) to a ebay tbi engine and I want to know what you think? I have seen plenty of other tbi engines on ebay that are crap but the person who posted the link said he has bought stuff from this guy before and has nothing but good stuff to say plus the seller has really good feed back. I am looking for a fairly easy engine replacement but want more power than a stock crate motor for my lifted 87 k5 blazer.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/New-b...temZ8040049415
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/New-b...temZ8040049415
Last edited by camok5; Apr 6, 2006 at 10:51 PM.
Senior Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 748
Likes: 0
From: Moreno Valley, CA
Car: 1990 Camaro RS
Engine: 305 TBI (L03)
Transmission: 700R4 (MD8)
Axle/Gears: 2.73 Open (GU2)
I don't see why it would be a bad deal. He includes the TBI unit with manifold and a PROM to run it. I personally have never dealt with this guy before, but it seems as if it is a good motor to run. If I had the money there are other engines I would rather put in, but overall this is a good one if you still want to run TBI.
However, you would need a new tranny. No 700R4/T5 would handle that amount of power.
However, you would need a new tranny. No 700R4/T5 would handle that amount of power.
Supreme Member
iTrader: (2)
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,678
Likes: 0
From: Miami
Car: 1992 Camaro RS
Engine: L03
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: Stock
The seller says the engine has never been run before. But he also says that it has 313 hp. I wonder how he found that out.
Aside from that, it looks good to me. And for $2,000 there isn't much else better than that.
Aside from that, it looks good to me. And for $2,000 there isn't much else better than that.
Originally Posted by ScottyRS
The seller says the engine has never been run before. But he also says that it has 313 hp. I wonder how he found that out.
Aside from that, it looks good to me. And for $2,000 there isn't much else better than that.
Aside from that, it looks good to me. And for $2,000 there isn't much else better than that.
Well on his page he says that the dyno sheet is from another engine that was built just like the one he is selling and not for that specific engine. He seems pretty up front about everything.
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
From: Corner of Walk & Dont Walk, So. Cal USA
Car: DAF
Engine: 3 cyl 2 cycle
Transmission: variable speed
Throwing a dart at the dartboard with a blindfold on
Originally Posted by camok5
Well on his page he says that the dyno sheet is from another engine that was built just like the one he is selling and not for that specific engine. He seems pretty up front about everything.
A suggestion for camok ...unless you live way out in the weeds there is more than likely a competent motor builder in your area. The aggravation you might save yourself...to say nothing of the motor freight, might be substantial. Think of e-bay as like some motor magazines......dont believe half of what you read ...the other half is also questionable.
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post





