Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Got my new cam.To degree or not to degree?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2003, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got my new cam.To degree or not to degree?

The fedex guy brought me my new cam and lifters today.I was looking the information in the box and it was talking about degreeing the cam.I have a moroso degree wheel my dad used on his racecar.

The cam is a comp cams 270h.There is directions on how to degree in the information.I also have a movie that came with the degree wheel.I can't do it tonight.I am still waiting on my roller timing chain set and arp bolts.Also do you guys suggest a cam button and locking plate?I am going to order my oil pump and pan in a few days.And if it is worth it I will hold off a little longer.I still have to get the heads redone and lots of other stuff anyway.No big hurry.I want to do it right.

Thanks
Old 01-08-2003, 09:33 PM

Right after I went out and made this post the ups man brought me my timing chain set and bolts.This maybe a stupid question to you pros.But this is my first time doing this.How do I get the timing chain gear off of the crank?

Thanks
Old 01-08-2003, 09:46 PM

Car: 82 Z-28
Engine: 408
Transmission: TH-400
Axle/Gears: 4.11
always degree in a cam on any non stock application. you need a 2 leg puller to get the crank gear off
mike
Old 01-08-2003, 09:51 PM

Alright so I guess I will do that.I was just reading and a web-site says I have to have a piston stop and a dial indicator.Which I have both.Now I just have to decided if I want to go to work tommorow or put it togother.

Haha.There is always something isn't there.
Old 01-08-2003, 10:26 PM
Supreme Member

Car: '94 Corvette
Engine: LT1
Transmission: 4L60E