Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Piston stop doesn't stop the piston??

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2008, 06:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '68 corvette '73 Corvette
Engine: 427 454
Transmission: TH400
Piston stop doesn't stop the piston??

I am installing a new dist. and wanted to double check tdc so i installed my new proform piston stop and with it screwed all of the way in it never touched the piston.

I have never used 1 before so am i missing something??
Old 05-03-2008, 06:17 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 91 RS
Engine: 350 vortec
Transmission: T-5
Axle/Gears: not the best not the worst
Re: Piston stop doesn't stop the piston??

how did you bring the piston up to the stop? with the starter?
Old 05-03-2008, 07:16 PM
Supreme Member

Received 52 Likes on 49 Posts
Car: 1988 Firebird S/E
Engine: 406Ci Vortec SBC
Transmission: TH-350/3500stall
Axle/Gears: 7.5" Auburn 4.10 Posi-Traction

If your heads have a spark plug hole that orients the spark plug straight across the combustion chamber parallel to the piston top, then the piston stop will never contact the piston and stop it.
You'll probably have to fabricate your own custom piton stop.
3/8" length of steel tube and a old spark plug and a welder is all you need.
knock the center out of the old spark plug so you just have the steel body.
weld the steel tube in the spark plug at a slight angle.
Leave a bit of a length on the business end. You may need to bend the end slightly so it will point down and contact the piston top before reaching TDC.
You may need to adjust the length and angle of the probe end. Trim the other end of the tube off.

Loosen off both rocker arms completely on # 1 cylinder so that the valves are completely closed and will not move. Move the piston away from TDC.