Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

85 firebird se 305 4bbl sensor question

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2010, 03:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
85 firebird se 305 4bbl sensor question

where is the location of the manifold absolute/differential sensor and the barometric pressure sensor? I think I know where they might be (on Firewall) but not completly sure. There are two (2) sensors (one on drivers/left side firewall; and one on passenger/right side) both appear similar (flat, rectangular) with an electrical connector going to each, and both sensors have what appears to be a vaccuum port (although only the sensor on drivers/left side has hose connected). Please someone help, I am new to these cars. Trying to narrow down vac leak.
Old 06-01-2010, 03:59 PM
naf
Supreme Member

Received 58 Likes on 52 Posts
Car: 1987 SC/1985 TA
Engine: 350/vortec/fitech
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 3.27 9-bolt
Re: 85 firebird se 305 4bbl sensor question

Welcome to TGO.

Driver's side is VAC sensor (with vac hose connected) Pass side is Baro sensor (no vac hose connected. The vac line to the VAC sensor is thin, hard plastic and runs through the harness to the rear port on the carb.

How do you know it's a vac leak?
Old 06-01-2010, 04:13 PM