Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

setting valve lash for the first time ever

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2013, 01:12 PM
On Probation

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Car: 88 Camaro vert/86 SC
Engine: 355 tbi/2.8 V6
Transmission: 700R4/T5
Axle/Gears: 2.72 posi/3.42 open
setting valve lash for the first time ever

Hi there,
I am putting together a 355 for the first time, and I have no experience setting the proper lash. Right now, I have the heads on, set to #1 TDC, timing chain cover off so I can see the cam and crank gear marks. On #1, I have the rockers assembled, and the locknut tightened so there is no up-and-down movement of the pushrod, but I can turn the pushrod with my fingers, with a small amount of resistance. The rocker arm has some slight side-to-side movement.

My question is, should there be any movement of the rocker arm? When the lash is set correctly, should I be able to turn the pushrod, or not at all?

Thanks in advance.
Old 07-14-2013, 08:16 PM
Supreme Member

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
Car: 67 ******mobile
Engine: 385 Solid roller
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: 4.11
Re: setting valve lash for the first time ever

long as you cant move it up and down youre ok.
Old 07-14-2013, 08:46 PM

Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86