Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Advise on steel shim head gasket installation

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2017, 02:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: currently a 91 G92.
Engine: 305TPI
Transmission: Borg Warner WC 5 speed
Axle/Gears: 3.42
Advise on steel shim head gasket installation

Dear third gen engine gurus,

I am a newbie at reassembling a chevy small block and what makes things more interesting, is the fact that I am using a thin head gasket, .015" steel shim from SCE on my 305 LB9.
As I read through my GM manual, there is a call for coating steel shim head gaskets. What coating should I apply to this gasket prior to assembly? Is the a coat from a spray can of outozone copper head gasket sufficient for this?
I have purchased new ARP head bolts for re-assembly. Do I need to coat all with thread sealer prior to installation, or is coating the bolts on the outside only sufficient?
What is a good way of cleaning the threads in the old bolt holes in the block?

Also, do any of you recommend special prep of the block deck surfaces, beside a thorough cleaning with brake cleaner? The cylinder heads going on top are brand new World Products castings that I had a machine shop assemble for me. The block is still in the car and the rest of the engine did not go to the machine shop. I am using the thinner head gaskets due to my engine having been rebuilt with cheap, rebuilder pistons that sit .045" in the hole. The engine deck surfaces were not decked and this rebuild was performed only 30000 miles ago, but 8 years have elapsed.