Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

88 Iroc Rebuild Planning (mile high planning)

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2019, 09:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 Iroc Rebuild Planning (mile high planning)

So it begins.. I recently purchased a 1988 IROC Z to rebuild with my 17 year old son. I had one a long time ago and wanted to learn about and rebuild the car from my youth. So anyway a friend of mine was selling his 305 TPI 88 Iroc and I picked it up at a great price. My son has his learners permit and has been driving it around alot. I don’t think he realized how much he would enjoy driving it. Well now it is on to the rebuild phase. I am a software engineer and know absolutly nothing about cars. I have been researching, watching videos (Motor Trend has a great 305 rebuild vide) and just gathering information. So here I am. I have some general questions that will help me decide which route to go.

1. I plan to keep the 305 and try to get about 350 hp out of it. I just want the car to be a decent beach cruiser. Any reason this is not doable?

2. As for rebuilding the engine. Can I rebuild the top end of the engine and rebuild the bottom end at a later time? Or should I just plan to do it all at once? I ask because I know the car has a manifold and valve cover leak. So I have been thinking about picking ups the vortech heads and a new intake manifold. The motor has about 150,000 miles on it and actually was well maintained. Can I drop that kit on the engine as it stands or is that going to cause the bottom end to **** all over itself. Or do I just replace the gaskets, button her back up and then when I have enough money pull the entire motor for a rebuild. Any idea how much a bottom end rebuild on a 305 would run?