Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

5 Speed Transmission advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2001, 10:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5 Speed Transmission advice

I am new to the performance car scene. I recently purchased a 1989 Formula with 305 TPI & 5 Speed. This is my first stick shift car. I live in Ny & there is alot of bumper to bumper traffic here sometimes. What can I do to avoid burning out my clutch at stop & go traffic. I tried starting in first gear at about 2900 rpm in slow traffic but the temp guage started to rise? Does anybody have any tips on how to drive a stick in heavy traffic.......Also what are signs of burning my clutch? Sometimes I dont pres on the gas long enough & I feel the tranny buck. Will that destroy the transmission?

Thanks
Old 05-18-2001, 11:27 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've heard that just quickly dumping the clutch at low revs is best for it. It limits the slipping, which is what burns friction disks, etc. I think in bumper to bumper NY traffic, you're pretty much screwed. Dumping the clutch will put you right into the back end of the guy in front of you. The one time I had to drive my Fbird over the Geo. Wash. Bridge in rush hour, I limited the amount of times I moved ahead. If the guy infront moves twice, I moved once. I would wait until there was enough room between us to justify moving. It means that somepeople may cut in front of you and fill in the gap, but it saves my centerforce for a little while longer.
Define "buck". Is it a chatter, or just one movement?

------------------
No guts, no glory.
Old 05-18-2001, 11:32 AM

when i say buck as in that shaking jerky moving before going forward no chatter or sound. Letting up on the clutch too soon I think. I never smell a burning smell yet though ( Burning the clutch? ). What is dumping the clutch?

Thanks
Old 05-18-2001, 01:01 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post