V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

IAC question

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2009, 08:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IAC question

I have an 89 camaro 2.8l v6, and i've been having problems with the idle speed bogging down and engine stalling when i stop the car at a red light or stop sign. I read a bunch of post where the IAC had been readjusted and fixed the problem. So i went and hooked up my winaldl to the car in diagnostic mode and got a reading of 50 counts for IAC in idle -

Now im no mechanic but is it possible for the IAC to be this high?

Just wanted some clarification in case i was reading something wrong - thanks guys
Old 04-03-2009, 09:34 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT
Engine: 2.7L V6
Transmission: 6-speed
Axle/Gears: 4.41
Re: IAC question

First, remove the valve and clean it. That usually helps in a lot of cases. Second, make sure you don't have any vacuum hoses broken or deteriorating, as the MAF system dislikes unmetered air entering the engine and throwing off the A/F mixture.

My FSM says between 0 and 80 counts is acceptable. Lower numbers meaning your idle is too high and 80+ being too low. Check the counts with the engine off. They should be 140 or more, for easier starting.

What is your idle speed with the engine at operating temp? For the T5, it should run about 550-650 RPM, and 700 RPM for the 700R4 in Drive. Also, using the ALDL software, check your Block Learn... Should be about 120-125 if everything is okay. Lean is more than 138, and rich is less than 118.

Also, the book says to check your oxy sensor in the exhaust for contamination and old age, and replace if necessary. Better yet, maybe a complete tune up would help.
Old 04-04-2009, 10:21 AM

Thanks for the quick reply maverick,