V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

Starting 1985 Camaro Build

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2014, 04:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1985 Camaro
Engine: 2.8
Transmission: T-5
Starting 1985 Camaro Build

I have been lurking around here for a while, before I made an account also. I have read and searched through multiple threads and posts. I have a few questions.

First off the car is a 1985 Sport Coupe 2.8 5spd. My parents bought it in the early 90s with 40k-60k miles on it. I remember all 8 of us riding in it, as it was our only reliable transportation for years. Probably the reason I love Chevy so much. Anyway, it was my gift for graduation. I never really got around to messing with it till now. I graduated in 2009. I could care less about the paint right now. I am focusing on the running and driving of the car. As it sits now I have 113k miles on it.

I have a 2004 F150 Heritage and a 2004 Honda Civic(AKA gas mileage). Both of them run very good, and I got deals on both of them. Now I want to focus what money my wife allows me to have into the car that is slow, but faster than my civic.

1st

The check engine light has been on for years. I felt like everyone was joking when they said to use a paperclip to check it. I read that the CODE 12 should flash 3 times, and then just repeat if no other codes are stored. Well all I get is CODE 12 flashing. I doubt it is the computer, since the car runs fine. What else could it be? Distributor?

2nd

My gas gauge has been pegged out since someone put a fuel pump in it a few years ago. First off, I am not happy with the way it was done. I am a big fan of cutting an access hole, but this looks like someone ripped the metal back with a set of needle nose. What are some causes for this?
I'm trying to find a way to make it more aesthetically pleasing.

3rd