Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Help With first Body project

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2017, 04:36 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: Iroc-Z
Engine: TPI 305
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3.27
Help With first Body project

Hello all.

I will like to start by disclosing that I have no previous body work experience what so ever.

I ask for advise/tips opinions on how to best focus to fix/save my Iroc. I have over the years lost two due to bad rust. I have been at fault for paying much more attention to the Engine/suspension than the body, and have paid the price for it.

I have attached some pictures of my car as it currently sits, to obtain some feedback. I am open to buy tools materials and what ever else is necessary.

To commence, I was going to get a metal brush and clean the areas as much as possible and spray with eastwood rust converter.

Thanks
Sac

behind drive seat

under back seat

both back seats

trunk

trunk

passenger seat

behind passenger seat

Ttop

Between ttop and windshield

next to Ttop
Old 10-16-2017, 04:57 PM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 1991 Camaro RS
Engine: Hot 355ci
Transmission: Beefed TH350
Axle/Gears: 4:10
Re: Help With first Body project

Just take the surface rust down to bare metal and paint it, holes=cut out affected area and weld new piece in. The windshield/ttop area, not sure other than weld a small piece in, anything other than that is a hack or a lottttt of work. Doesn't look to bad
Old 10-16-2017, 08:03 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1,052 Likes on 748 Posts

Figure out where the water is coming from and fix that first.

Those square patches of jute are sealer covering the body plugs. Heat em up with a heat gun and they will mostly peel off with a putty knife. Any residue left over will clean up with mineral spirits and a few rags.