Carburetors Carb discussion and questions. Upgrading your Third Gen's carburetor, swapping TBI to carburetor, or TPI to carburetor? Need LG4 or H.O. info? Post it here.

So my squirters arent working right

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2008, 04:27 AM
Supreme Member

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Car: 1992 Camaro RS
Engine: Vortec headed 355, xe262
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 9-bolt 3.70
So my squirters arent working right

Im new to the carb thing... but I've got no idea where to start with this.

I got my new build together and I borrowed a buddy's carb for the initial startup and it turns out my cylinder heads were junk so the car is on stands for a little while.

But I figure I should take the oppurtunity to get to fixin my carb. It's a Holley 650 DP and the squirters (shooters?) are supposed to make a nice cloud of gas over each barrel, right? Mine just sorta drip...

The carb seems like it's in good shape but I have no idea how long it's been sitting and collecting dust before I got it, so I was curious as to what action I should take to remedy it. I've got it apart, but I've seen nothing that my untrained eye would think is an obvious cause for it.

And I have a book on Holleys taht I just read all the way through and it's more about performance tuning that diagnosing problems so it wasnt much help.
Old 02-25-2008, 07:17 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1,672 Likes on 1,269 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere
Re: So my squirters arent working right

Yes a fair amount of gas should come out when you open the throttles to WOT.... SEVERAL cc's.