DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

NEED A LITTLE HELP. ECM MASKS, FILES, HACKING 6.5 DIESEL AND $0D

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2009, 10:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NEED A LITTLE HELP. ECM MASKS, FILES, HACKING 6.5 DIESEL AND $0D

OK, I am a newbie here but notice some familiar users in my searches so here I am.... CNC mfg engineering, off-road engine builder, looking to tune in what I need with ECMs.

So I am getting up to speed here and gaining by the minute. I have two trucks that are here and will be donors for my testing. Both need my help and I know what they need but getting it into the PCBs is another story. I am using Tunerpro and truck are 95/5.7L/4L60E and 94/6.5L turbo diesel/4L80E

Per my understanding and confirmation, the 5.7 truck uses a 16197427 ECM with 27C512 EPROM. I plan to use the 27SF512 in it.

The diesel is an unknown because they only did the OBDI and EFI for 2 years on it. People are being a real pain on that truck so some data is hard to find.

Questions:::

1. I am still unclear as to what the "mask" is and how it relates... It is my understanding that it is basically the "key" or in our CNC world, the post processor of the raw data. This is what decodes the bin file into dumb *** terms so I can change it???

2. If I understand the masks, can one extract it from the ECM? I have a tech article that goes into depth on pulling the "mask" from the ECM but my ECMs are not listed. It is a "process" to say the least but willing if that is what it takes. Just not sure if this is more a standard process for all or if each ECM requires a different procedure.