Electronics Need help wiring something up? Thinking of adding an electrical component to your car? Need help troubleshooting that wiring glitch?

Heater/electrical problem?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2010, 09:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1992 Camaro Rally Sport
Engine: 305, wishing for a 350
Heater/electrical problem?

I've read through many threads here regarding my heater blower motor on my 92 Camaro RS, but have yet to find a problem that fit mine exactly. I'm very new to the Camaro repair game, so I know very little about the car. I do, however, have a Haynes Repair Manual handy, but it too doesn't quite explain how to fix my problem. Okay...

My heater fan won't work on ANY level whatsoever, but does have a mind of it's own and works fine when it feels like it. This can occur when I've been driving awhile, or when my wife slams the door because I've been driving too damn fast again. I was a moron and went out and bought a new heater blower motor before properly troubleshooting, hoping that the fix was as easy as the Haynes manual made it look. I unplugged everything from the blower motor and had one screw undone before I got cold feet and wondered if I was getting in over my head. After plugging everything back in and starting the car, the damn heater was once again feeling perky and working just fine. I thought that somehow I fixed it, but lo-and-behold it quits on me again, and goes back to it's on-again/off-again ways.

I'm guessing that this is an electrical wiring problem somewhere, since the heater blower motor obviously is not shot to hell or anything. I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and since my '96 GMC Jimmy decided to die on me, I'm forced to drive this awesome yet awkward-on-ice beauty for the duration of the winter and would LOVE to have heat.

I apologize if this problem has already been addressed and solved, I just couldn't seem to find the fix anywhere. All help and advice is greatly appreciated!
Old 02-28-2010, 09:39 PM