Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

turnkey engines?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2007, 01:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Z/28 1LE
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.42
turnkey engines?

So, I'm a college student. Bought my car with a 350 from a backyard mechanic who really shouldn't have been under the hood. Engine ended up throwing a rod. Buddy had a working v-6, let me have it for $100, so that's in my car now.

My parents knew how upset I was going from a 350 to a 3.1 (it really is a sad occasion,) so they told me if I get enough money in scholarships to pay for a year of school, they'd pay to have a shop swap a 350 back in. I did the 8-6 swap myself, and I had planned on going back when I got the money, I'm a little sad that I can't do it myself, my car has been my baby since I bought it, but hey, free labor, and free engine, right?

Only thing is, they're making me buy a complete, i.e, turnkey engine for it. I'm not too big on turnkey's, I have no idea really what to look for in one, or whether or not it's even a good idea. Limit is about $3500 for the engine, so far I've found the 'best,' or rather, best looking, deals on ebay. Can anyone throw some light onto this? What should I look for/stay away from? Also, most of the turnkeys on ebay are carb'd, how difficult is the swap from fuel injected to carb'd? I know the shop is going to be doing it, but we aren't made of money, and it's incredibly generous of my parents to be doing this, so I'd rather not have to tack on an extra $1000 or whatever it may be for the injected to carb'd.

Thanks a bunch guys.
Old 12-09-2007, 09:22 AM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 88 V6 'bird/89TBI bird/85 T/A
Engine: 2.8/TBI/TPI
Transmission: V8 T-5/700R4 x2
Axle/Gears: 3.42 open/2.73 open/ 3.27 9 bolt
Re: turnkey engines?