Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Step-by-step of 3.1l v6- > carbed 350?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2018, 12:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 camaro RS
Engine: 3.1l
Transmission: auto
Step-by-step of 3.1l v6- > carbed 350?

Hi. I'm doing a restorating of a 1991 camaro RS 3.1l v6 and I, sadly, have a sinking feeling that the engine is on it's very, very last leg. I'm not a real mechanic, I'm an at-home DIY-er.

Let's paint a hypothetical picture. The engine blows up. Total kerput, can't be rebuilt. I go to a nearby junkyard and rip a 5.7L carbed 350 small block out of a truck. Engine probably has ~100k miles on it. Should I rebuild the entire engine? I won't buy anything without hearing it run.

Does anyone have a list of every single step involved in this? I've already bypassed VATS, so that is one down. I assume I'd need a fuel pressure regulator, but aside from that, I have no clue the steps/parts.

If someone has done this in a build and documented it, a link would be great. I searched and searched and found nothing.

If no one has documented this well, can someone do a laundry list of what would need to be done? I assume it would be something like this:

Take old engine out with a hoist

Put new mounting brackets on for new small block

Drop and bolt a new engine in(any clearence issues? Do I need a new transmission to go with it?)

How does the distributor work? Can I use the stock distributor for this? I thought I'd have to remove the ECM

Add fuel pressure regulator, then hook the fuel like up to the carbs

Add starter, hookup air filter, hookup stock radiator(will stock rad work?)

Add custom exhaust(I am a welder. I can do build it myself)