Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

LS Swap Planning Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2019, 01:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1990 GTA (T-Top)
Engine: 305 TPI (LB9) / 115k miles
Transmission: 4L60 (MD8 non-E)
Axle/Gears: 2.73 (GU2) 28 spline POSI (G80)
LS Swap Planning Help

I've posted on this topic over the past years, when I didn't really know anything, but after doing some research and getting good insights from this community, I believe I've narrowed down what I want to do to gain horsepower with budget in mind. I'd like to run my plans by you all and get a solid plan in place and find out any items of importance that I will need to consider... and modify my plan as needed.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional mechanic, but do most car maintenance myself (fluid changes, belts, brakes, etc).

What I have: a stock 1990 T/A GTA w/305 TPI and 4 speed auto and a highway rear end (2.73 gears) which is sluggish and bottom line not an exciting ride.

What I want: A naturally aspirated and reliable street car that is comparable performance-wise to a modern V8 Camaro. Not looking to build a drag car with slicks, NOS, open headers, intended for track purposes only.

My plan is to get a complete junkyard drop-out from a 2WD truck/van (Sierra, Tahoe, Express Van). So essentially I want a 6.0 LS (LQ4, LY6, etc.) with the LS3-style rectangular port heads. I would like to run all the truck accessories if possible (are there any fitment issues with this?), and I want to SHAVE the truck intake so that it will fit under the stock hood and run the stock truck injectors/fuel rails. Truck everything essentially. I believe this is the most cost effective approach. If there is a 6.2 L LS available for similar pricing (doubt it), I'll just assume go with it instead.