Exhaust Post your questions and suggestions about stock or aftermarket exhaust setups. Third Gen exhaust sound files and videos!

Flowmaster - What's wrong with them?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2007, 11:59 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 88 V6 'bird/89TBI bird/85 T/A
Engine: 2.8/TBI/TPI
Transmission: V8 T-5/700R4 x2
Axle/Gears: 3.42 open/2.73 open/ 3.27 9 bolt
Flowmaster - What's wrong with them?

You know, I get tired of hearing people bash flowmasters. I run them and I think they are just fine.

LET'S SEE SOME ACTUAL TRACK TIMES - THEN YOU CAN BASH! I don't give a damn about flow numbers; I'm not an engineer so I'd like to see a time slip from the track!

I haven't seen a nickel's worth of difference at the 1/8 mile or 1/4 mile to tell me that flowmaster flows so bad you shouldn't run it. I have not seen anyone ditch a flowmaster and then gain a half a second by running hooker, borla, or anything else.

I understand that some people don't like the sound or the fact that they are popular. That's fine. What's that got to do with performance?

So? No flow numbers, I want real track testing to prove that flowmaster sucks.

Anybody got any REAL proof?
Old 12-20-2007, 12:06 AM
Supreme Member

Re: Flowmaster - What's wrong with them?

To clarify, since I'm not an engineer, I think flow numbers are a tad misleading. When I first heard about flowmasters, I learned that by the design they are supposed to help scavenge exhaust due to the internal layout.

Doesn't that help, not hurt?

Wouldn't that design show less numbers on a forced air flow test instead of showing real world gains in HP vs stock and other aftermarket mufflers?

That's the main reason I don't trust the flow numbers as much as someone's time slip.