Exhaust Post your questions and suggestions about stock or aftermarket exhaust setups. Third Gen exhaust sound files and videos!

Best sound from the Rear

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2012, 02:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1988 firebird
Engine: tired 2.8 v6
Transmission: stock auto
Best sound from the Rear

So im just starting out on my build and have found a decent engines. I wanted to know what exhausts others thought put out the meanest sound? Starting at the block of an LS1 and working our way back.
Old 10-26-2012, 02:48 PM

Car: 1989 SS
Engine: LT1+1500$ hooker exhaust
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 3.42 bogger
Re: Best sound from the Rear

Straight pipes if it's a weekend warrior, hooker if it's an everyday driver with cutouts imo.
Old 10-26-2012, 03:32 PM
Supreme Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 1987 iroc
Engine: 383 TPIS intake, Dyno Don headers
Transmission: 700R4 w/Pro-built Auto/transgo 2-3
Axle/Gears: 3.27/3.70 borg warner 9 bolt

Originally Posted by kuzco
So im just starting out on my build and have found a decent engines. I wanted to know what exhausts others thought put out the meanest sound? Starting at the block of an LS1 and working our way back.
Depends on where you live and how easy going the law is? Straights will be very loud if you get on it a little from a stop light, I have Borla with electric cut outs so i can go from mild to wild, but they are very expensive. Magnaflow and Flowmaster are very common. You need to listen to a variety of different cars with different exhaust to determine what you like, or can afford. Don't forget a good set of headers, shorties or long tubes?
Old 10-26-2012, 03:53 PM

Originally Posted by red rock