Interior Discussion about interior restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Cluster problems...needs help.

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2012, 03:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Z28 IROC-Z Camaro Convertible
Engine: 305ci-V8
Transmission: TH700-R4 automatic
Cluster problems...needs help.

Hi everybody,

First of all, I've got to introduce myself.
Lionel, 20 y.o., I'm a salesman and I live in Lausanne, Switzerland. I'm passionate by American cars since I'm 12. In my garage there's plenty of American cars. 1969 Ford Maverick, 1972 Mercury Comet, 1978 Jeep Cherokee Chief, 1979 Mustang, Mustang Ghia and Mercury Capri. At last, my daily driver, an 1982 Mercury Cougar Sedan.
The 3rd Gen Camaro Convertible was my father's dream car since years ago. He's totally in love with that car, and I can't deny that I am too.

One month ago, after months of searching, I finally found the one: 1989 Z28 IROC-Z Convertible Camaro. 305ci-TBI V8, original 75'000 miles. I bought immediatly, no time for reflection. I bought it pretty cheap but it was a problem with that car. A vandal ****ed up the convertible top, broke the window, went into the car, destroyed the dash with a screwdriver or something and stole the instrument cluster.
It was one 240kph instrument cluster, cable driven. The dash was totally broken, I spent my whole week working on it to repair it. The convertible top is now repaired too.

But today, after fixing the whole wiring behind the dash, I tried to install the OEM 145MPH instrument cluster that I bought on E-Bay last month. And there the problem goes...
I had no problem to install the new instrument cluster but after connecting the two big wiring plugs at the back of the instrument cluster and after putting the speedo cable in, I tried to drive a little...and nothing works well. Here are the problems:

-The oil pressure gauge is completely wrong, constantly moving.
-The fuel gauge doesn't looks to work well.