TBI Throttle Body Injection discussion and questions. L03/CFI tech and other performance enhancements.

L03 TBI - Ran low on gas, is how this all began...

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2017, 06:00 PM

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Car: 92 RS / 90 IROC-Z
Engine: 305 / 350
Transmission: Auto
Axle/Gears: Non-Posi / Posi - Both GU2 - 2.73
L03 TBI - Ran low on gas, is how this all began...

Hello all!

I'm going to start by saying I am a novice, and would appreciate assistance only as I've put in hours, and I mean hours into searching old threads, but no one has stated *solved* so the issue for me remains.

I was running rather low on fuel one evening, decided to push it home and get fuel in the morning. Well, a pizza run was required so I fired her up, drove along about 1.5 miles, noticed some performance issues, surging, RPM's all over so I went across the street, put in fuel, and the issues went on adding hesitation and stalling out when coming to a stop. After filling the tank, and adding in about half a bottle of Lucas Deep Fuel System Cleaner it ran no better over the next few days, and nearly killing me on the highway, the troubleshooting began...

When removing the Air Cleaner, I noticed that the passenger side Fuel Injector quit spraying, not even a drip. Just the sound of a loud suction.

-Tried swapping connectors on the injectors - Issue Remained
-Noticed taped wires, as if the pig-tail for the injectors was replaced by P/O. Removed tape, exposed wires, cut & replaced old pig-tail. - Issues Remained
-Replaced Fuel Filter - Issue Remained

The party whom replaced my fuel filter suggested a complete TBI Unit replacement from a Yard-Car...

Should I troubleshoot this situation from the Fuel Pump forward, or from the Fuel Injectors & TBI Unit backwards? Isn't it the Fuel Pump that would supply the pressure to the TBI & Injector Pod, thus if the pumps output pressure drops, there wouldn't be enough pressure to run both injectors, right?