Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

Rebuilding engine Questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2002, 12:06 AM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1988 Firebird, 2000 GTP
Engine: 327
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 9" posi, 4.11
Rebuilding engine Questions

Alright, I am planning on an engine rebuild sometime in the future. I want to add an LT1 cam, Vortec heads, Vortec intake, and do a lot of work to the TBI(ultimate mods, TPI throttle blades, AFPR, etc.) and 3" exhaust.
Anyway, I was telling a mechanic about doing this stuff and he said I will need to rebuild the bottom end as well, I.E. crank, pistons.
My question is.....Do I really need to do this? I know it could help a lot, but I'm not sure. I've never done any of this before.

Oh, I have a pretty much stock LO3 right now.
Old 06-17-2002, 02:41 AM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '87 Camaro LT
Engine: 355 L98
Transmission: T56
the mechanic's wrong. the mods you're talking are fairly mild and don't warrant a new bottom end. the lt1 cam and vortec heads were used on stock engines that, as far as i know, didn't have forged anything from the factory

my suggestion is do a lot of reading before you start doing any work, it'll save you a lot of headaches
Old 06-17-2002, 08:13 AM
Supreme Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
Car: 4
Engine: 6
Transmission: 5
What you're talking about is not a "rebuild". It's a list of modifications. What your mechanic is talking about is an actual rebuild, but no mods.