Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

1986 Firebird running issue..going nuts!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 07:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 Firebird running issue..going nuts!!!

To start off with, I have a 2.8L engine, not a muscle car but i love my Firebird! I do have a couple of questions to ask, whoever answers this and maybe I will get a good mechanic to answer it. I am a mechanic but from the old school lol. I took my car to the garage and they found a bad Mass Air Flow Sensor bad and replaced it. The car runs better now but not to my standards. It will start right up but when throttle is put to it, it is rough. A little popping at acceleration but runs good pass the roughness. I took the car out on the freeway and runs fantastic. Once warm, it runs and idles somewhat smooth. Now the questions and problems. Once warm and idling and stopped at a light for a little period of time, it acts like it drops in power and comes back up to good idle. This does this but if put in neutral, it stays iding good. Possible causes is needed. Acceleration is rough at first and then smooth, even after warmed up good. Why? Where is the timing mark suppose to be at? I want this car to run jam up and jelly tight. Catalylic Converter was removed, so does make a difference? Oh by the way, this is a fuel injected system TPI. What should I do or where should I go.
Old 10-31-2010, 09:11 PM
Supreme Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Car: 88 V6 'bird/89TBI bird/85 T/A
Engine: 2.8/TBI/TPI
Transmission: V8 T-5/700R4 x2
Axle/Gears: 3.42 open/2.73 open/ 3.27 9 bolt
Re: 1986 Firebird running issue..going nuts!!!