TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aceel Base with stock runners question

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2003, 06:46 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '91 Formula
Engine: 350
Transmission: TH350 built
Axle/Gears: 3.73
Aceel Base with stock runners question

OK, Im new at this. I bought a used accel base and got the car apart and just now realized I cant use the stock gasket set for the base to runners. I guess I need to order a set of accel high flow runners gaskets from jegs right? Also I was thinking about port matching the runners but there is not much metal there. I guess it would be better to just flare the thick metal part at the end of the runners to there is not a wall there, than nothing. I want to go to supperamm plenum and runners as well, but no more money for now. What should I do to make this work for now?
Old 02-21-2003, 06:49 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Why can't you use the stock gaskets? If the runners are the same size as the gaskets, what good would it be getting larger gaskets?
Old 02-21-2003, 06:52 PM
Supreme Member

hmm, good point. I guess I was thinking of porting the base part of the runners to match the larger hole in the base. I could just put it back together that way I guess with the stock gasket, and not do anything to the runners, probably would be all right. Wouldnt get increase flow for now but Id be ready for when I get the larger runners
Old 02-21-2003, 06:55 PM
Supreme Member

It just occured to me, I wonder if I would have trouble with the runner to base holes sealing OK. If the base holes are a lot larger than the stock runners it could suck air?
Old 02-21-2003, 07:24 PM

Car: 89 Iroc
Engine: 383
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.45
The stock gaskets should work fine. That is what I used with my SR base and stock runners
Old 02-21-2003, 07:31 PM
Supreme Member