TPI Tuned Port Injection discussion and questions. LB9 and L98 tech, porting, tuning, and bolt-on aftermarket products.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

305 tpi help

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Irocz
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: T-5
Axle/Gears: 3.08 Posi
305 tpi help

Hey everyone this is my first post to the board but I've been using this site ever since I got my car 6 years ago so I didn't really know where to post this so sorry in advanced if this is the wrong place.

I have a 1989 irocz with a 305 tpi and t5 the only mods are gutted air box, a 3 inch electric cutout where the cat used to be and 3 inch exhaust and the motor was rebuilt roughly 45k miles ago.

The car sat for about a year and I would start it and drive it once every month until about 4 months ago it died while at wide open throttle in third gear and I got it started but it would idle extremely rough and die when you let off the gas.

​​​​​​I'm trying to get it running again but it will only start with starting fluid and it idles extremely rough and shakes very bad. It pretty much sounds like half the engine is running. It will rev up sometimes but most of the time it bogs down and wont rev over 2500 rpms and then will die. I was getting code 42 but now it is not throwing any codes.

So far I have replaced the plugs, cap and rotor, ignition control module under the distributor, fuel filter and the car got a brand new fuel pump before I let it sit
​​​​​​
I need to get this running soon because my wife and me only have one vehicle at the moment so any help is apreiciated and thank you in advance.
Old 05-11-2017, 07:08 PM

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Car: 1992 Z28
Engine: 383
Transmission: 700R4
Re: 305 tpi help

Sounds like the fuel pressure regulator. Pull the vacuum line off of the fuel pressure regulator and check if its leaking fuel. If not then check your fuel pressure.
Old 05-11-2017, 07:13 PM