Transmissions and Drivetrain Need help with your trans? Problems with your axle?

Whining from rear axle...

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2004, 10:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Formula 350 Firebird
Engine: 350
Transmission: 700 R4
Whining from rear axle...

Ok I have changed the gear oil in the rear axle of my other car... 1991 RS Camaro... and I still have a whining sound only when the gas is let up and in motion... like under acceleration there is no sound... but when target speed is reached.... 30, 40, 50 mph... and you let off the gas to coast I get this whining sound from the rear axle... its an open diff. and its like a 3.08 or something like that with the 700 R4... But I am wondering if the rear end is going out or if its a bearing or what... again I started hearing the sound and changed the oil and no difference... there is no performance difference either... any ideas? I am still learning about rear axles so I am a little stumped... I searched for a while and am still out in the blue....
Old 11-30-2004, 11:46 AM
Supreme Member

Received 76 Likes on 66 Posts
Car: 1991 Z28 Vert
Engine: 383 single plane efi
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: 8.8 with 3.73s
I am going through close to the same problem. Make sure all bolts are torqued down to start out with. It could be the drive shaft is out of balance or the u joints are saying good by to you. It could also be that the backlash on the pinion gear is now out of adjustment.
Old 11-30-2004, 02:41 PM

Car: '68 corvette '73 Corvette
Engine: 427 454
Transmission: TH400
my 3.08 did the exact same thing until it locked up and left me stranded.
Old 11-30-2004, 06:44 PM
Supreme Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: Camaro
Engine: 6.2L
Transmission: T56