V6 Discussion and questions about the base carbureted or MPFI V6's and the rare SFI Turbo V6.

89 turbo build.

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 05:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
89 turbo build.

got a 89 camaro rs with the 2.8 173ci v6. i would really like to install a turbo on it. ive read the stickies provided and all that and it helps greatly. now my engine is in good condition it has 106,000 miles on the engine. but i wunna make sure while running boost to the engine it doesnt break or anything.

now i know i prob need intake manifold, new valves, valve spring lifters, valve stem seals. now by ur opinion what do i need to make sure i dont kill my car after installing the turbo? and where can i find these parts [links would be nice] its hard for me to find parts for the 2.8 and i would appreciate any help as im new to this whole thing. i just wunna make sure i can drive this car everyday and have it not die on me and cost me an arm and a leg
Old 10-20-2009, 06:10 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 89 RS 89 iroc 87 firebird
Engine: 3.1 Turbo/ 355 twin turbo
Transmission: a4 w/ 4500 stall/ a4 / t5
Axle/Gears: strange s60 /w 3:42's
Re: 89 turbo build.

Originally Posted by Xx89CamaroRSxX
. i just wunna make sure i can drive this car everyday and have it not die on me and cost me an arm and a leg
turbo my friend is not for you , unles su have prior turbocharging experience
keep it n/a for now.

but dont get me wrong it can be done reliably but u gota do ur homework first.

my first turbo setup i drove everyday for 2 years on the stock computer without anything other then a few small hiccups one was the flexplate breaking.
Old 10-20-2009, 06:14 PM

Originally Posted by project89
turbo my friend is not for you , unles su have prior turbocharging experience
keep it n/a for now.

but dont get me wrong it can be done reliably but u gota do ur homework first.