Tech / General Engine Is your car making a strange sound or won't start? Thinking of adding power with a new combination? Need other technical information or engine specific advice? Don't see another board for your problem? Post it here!

valve train combo for vortec heads, too risky?

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2016, 05:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 85 Firebird
Engine: 350 vortec
Transmission: 700R4 2 stage shift kit 2200 stall
Axle/Gears: 3.08
valve train combo for vortec heads, too risky?

Hello Thirdgeners!

I am in the middle of a 350 vortec build/swap. I have new vortec heads (062) on an 86' roller block with stock rotating assembly, comp 276HR, stock self aligning rockers, Edelbrock RPM, holley 600cfm vac secondaries. This is my first build so i researched like crazy for about a year on vortec builds (and engine building in general of course).

My question is about the work my local machinist did on the vortec's for more lift. I brought the heads to him with the cam specs and told him i need bigger spring pocket diam. and screw in studs, right? He said he had done many vortec builds and all i needed to do was increase the spring pocket and go with comp 943-16 springs, no need for screw in studs. He also did say he would love to take my money and do it anyways (jokingly). So i trusted him and he did the head work and put the springs on as well.

Have any of you ever had the rocker studs actually pull out/break on a vortec? Will i be safe with this spring combo? Thanks in advance!
Old 10-14-2016, 08:40 AM
Supreme Member

Received 189 Likes on 149 Posts
Car: 1984 Trans Am L69
Engine: Sniper EFI Powered 355
Transmission: WC T5 w/ Steel Support Plate
Axle/Gears: 3.42 10 Bolt Posi
Re: valve train combo for vortec heads, too risky?