Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Completed: Economical DIY Basic Paint Job

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2019, 10:44 PM

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Car: 92 RS / 90 IROC-Z
Engine: 305 / 350
Transmission: Auto
Axle/Gears: Non-Posi / Posi - Both GU2 - 2.73
Completed: Economical DIY Basic Paint Job

The short & sweet is I can't afford to pay as much as or more than I paid for the car for a paint job, doesn't seem logical so here we go. *IF* you have value to add to this thread by all means speak up, share links, etc. I am a true NOOB so *IF* you intend on roasting, being condescending, or anything less than encouraging PLEASE move on. As stated, the car's a $800 beater and the only way to keep the cost of a half decent paint job well below the cost of the car is DIY. This thread starts my plan, hopefully I can execute!

Equipment:
- Safety Glasses, Gloves & Face Masks (Owned)
- Harbor Freight 21 Gal 125psi Compressor (Owned)
- (2) Harbor Freight HVLP Spray Guns ($18)
- Harbor Freight Compressor Regulator ($4)
- Harbor Freight Spray Gun Filter ($2.50)
- Harbor Freight BAUER 2.8 Amp, 5 In. Random Orbital Palm Sander ($30)
- Harbor Freight 80/120/220 grit sanding discs ($10)

Supplies:
- 1 Gallon Rust-OleumŽ Specialty Gloss White Farm and Implement Enamel ($29)
- 1 QT SunnysideŽ Mineral Spirits Premium Paint Thinner ($4)
- 2 Cans IRON ARMORŽ 10 Oz. Iron ArmorŽ Gray Filler Primer ($8)
- 3 Mixing Cups / Stir Stix ($3)
- Painters Tape
- Tarps / Plastic Sheeting

Resource Threads:
https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/body...int-job-6.html
https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/body...mp-garage.html

Last edited by 92RS-HeritageEd; 08-04-2019 at 10:41 AM.
Old 06-09-2019, 10:55 PM

Re: Economical DIY Basic Paint Job

Question # 1