Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Peeling Clear Coat (no clear hardly left)

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2023, 09:09 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 88 Trans Am
Engine: 305 TBI
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3:42 open diff
Peeling Clear Coat (no clear hardly left)

Hello everyone, well I got a new project that I have been putting off for the last 15 years. It’s my 1988 Pontiac Trans Am. My story goes like this, I bought the car 20 years ago it was one of the gm cars that had bad paint from the factory I think?? I recall it was partially repainted at some point in the 1990’s as what the previous owner said. Progressively in the about the 5th year of me owning the car the clear started peeling away. Also I have repainted some areas like the front bumper and the side rocker panel I recall I just da sanded with 180 and primed with 2k and since then it has held up which is about 10 years. I would like to use aircraft stripper but they took the methylene chloride out of the new formula and it works like crap I hear. I have some unused plastic bumper stripper in spray cans that I forgot I had which could be used to strip the bumpers. They definitely have methylene chloride.

I tried using my bondo buster 8 in da on 80 grit and and then 40 grit. It just left deep scratches. I went over it with just 180 on a regular da and it appears to be feathering out but very slowly. Now I’m guessing the basecoat is so brittle and contaminated that it won’t sand like normal. Also, the old basecoat and clear does not smell like fresh paint with a banana like solvent odor as I’m sanding, it has like a rotten like musty cheese smell. Before I began sanding I wiped down with wax and grease remover and it was all red on the rags. I have attached some pics, I would greatly appreciate some help

Old 09-25-2023, 06:45 PM

Received 195 Likes on 132 Posts
Car: 1985 Z28
Engine: 305 LG4
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3.42