Cooling Discuss all of the aspects of cooling that you can think of! Radiators, transmissions, electric fans, etc.

AC compressor cycling for 1984 Trans Am

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2013, 08:52 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 1984 Trans Am
Engine: 305 L69 (E4ME)
Transmission: NWC T5 1352-072
Axle/Gears: 3.73 (6HS)
AC compressor cycling for 1984 Trans Am

Just posting this for information based on my experience.

I have read about 100 different ways to do air conditioning, so this is the road I went down. I am not an ac expert. Just telling what I have read and what I have done whether it is right or wrong.

First it took me a while to get it into my head that the Firebird R4 /CCOT AC systems are not like cars of today. I have yet to meet anyone’s who’s ac system is not flat in their Firebird. I have a 1989 Dodge that is still blowing cold R-12 ac done from the factory.

I have read about two types of ac systems. Those that cycle based off pressure or based off temperature. Those that cycle off temperature use a Thermal Expansion Valve, while the pressure ones use a pressure switch.

The Firebird R4/CCOT AC system is a pressure based cycling system.

I did a retrofit on a 1990 Pathfinder from R12 to R134a seven years ago. I used one of those retrofit kits and did not flush the system. It is still running strong. I believe that system uses a Thermal Expansion Valve. I did replace the drier/accumulator and o-rings. I pulled the system down with a vacuum pump and charged it up with R134a until it was blowing cold. It was a slam-dunk. There was nothing unusual about the compressor cycling. It would run for a bit and then turn off. Never really noticed if it was on or off. Things just ran smooth.