Electronics Need help wiring something up? Thinking of adding an electrical component to your car? Need help troubleshooting that wiring glitch?

Obscure cranking/draining issue in a non-3rd gen

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2019, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '84 Camaro Z28 H.O.
Engine: L69 305 H.O.
Transmission: 700r4
Obscure cranking/draining issue in a non-3rd gen

So, I have an issue with this car I'm fixing up and I haven't got the slightest clue as to how to fix it and this is the only car forum I'm a part of so I'm hoping somebody here can help me. Now, I know that a '65 Olds F85 isn't exactly a third gen, and I apologize if this breaches any rules or anything, but I've got about nowhere else to look and I'm not a electronic expert myself so I've hit a brick wall and just need some help. If you're still reading this, thanks. Anyway, This f85 (basically a cheaper Cutlass) will not crank unless it's being jumpstarted. The battery can be fully charged and everything, but the crank will only turn over a few times before it slows down and refuses to continue turning. I've checked the battery voltage after it refuses to turn over and it goes from a full 12.6 volts before cranking to around 11.5 after every time. Nowhere near a dead battery. I've replaced the starter and that didn't fix it. On top of this, The car has a parasitic draw issue despite the fact my multimeter says it doesn't draw any amps when off. Despite this, overnight, half the battery will drain and I've put multiple batteries in it just to be sure and it still drains. A friend of mine bought this car on a bit of a whim, and it's a great car all things considered, but it has this strange electrical issue and I know nothing of electronics and despite my best efforts of trying to follow wiring throughout the car and staring at wiring diagrams in the included service manual I can't figure anything out. it does run and everything electronic works besides the right turn signal and it's lac