Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Easy to understand Instructions / User Guide for pulling 350 engine

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2009, 10:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Easy to understand Instructions / User Guide for pulling 350 engine

Help?

I am a rookie. I want to try to pull the 355 engine from TA project car and have speed shop evaluate engine and blown heads.

I want to do the heavy lifting myself. I have purchased an engine hoist but would like to see a step by step instruction manual on "how to" or "engine swap for dummies"

Thanks
Old 08-16-2009, 11:01 AM

Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Car: 87 IROC L98
Engine: 588 Alcohol BBC
Transmission: Powerglide
Axle/Gears: Ford 9"/31 spline spool/4.86
Re: Easy to understand Instructions / User Guide for pulling 350 engine

Originally Posted by Hawkeye9294
Help?

I am a rookie.
Give the car to the shop and have them do it. It will probably end up being cheaper. With inexperience, you're going to make costly mistakes.
Old 08-16-2009, 02:08 PM

I would like to but this speed shop will not pull the engine and transmission.

I would need to take it to another mechanic / shop first.

My son and his friends just did an engine swap and said they would consult / look over my shoulder / provide some muscle when needed but did not want to get too involved.

They did a JDM silvia motor swap and found a DVD with step by step instructions on a Tech Board. I was hoping for the same / similar.
Old 08-18-2009, 03:40 PM

Car: 1987 Firebird, Dad bought it new
Engine: 5.7L Vortec w/ LT4 Hot cam
Transmission: 700r4 transgo shiftkit 2600 stall
Axle/Gears: 3.42 '02 SS 6 spd rear